Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

State Executive Committee

The State Executive Committee (SEC), appointed by the Commissioner of the Texas Education Agency, is composed of eight school administrators, representing each of the four geographical regions and each of the six conferences, and a minimum of four-at-large members. This committee interprets the rules, settles disputes between different UIL districts and disputes which arise past the district level, conducts investigations and hearings of alleged violations, and hears appeals.

Members of the 2022-2023 State Executive Committee

Mike Motheral, Sundown, Chair

Arturo Cavazos, Harlingen

James Colbert, Jr., Superintendent, Harris County Department of Education

Curtis Culwell, Garland

Johanna Denson, Austin, Vice Chair

Paul Galvan, Fort Worth

Leandro Gonzales, Jr., Grady ISD

Edna Kennedy, Burton ISD

Glen Teal, Superintendent, Jim Ned ISD

Marshall Scott III, Superintendent, Bay City ISD

Carla Voelkel, Superintendent, Dickinson ISD

Daryl Wade, Houston