Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Waiver Review Board

The Waiver Review Board consists of twelve persons, whose terms begin on July 1. After consulting the chair of the State Executive Committee, the chair of the Legislative Council shall appoint four members to serve for one (1) year. The selection of appointed members shall reflect a sensitivity to ethnicity, gender and student population size of districts. A member of the Legislative Council is not eligible to serve on the Waiver Review Board. Each of the six conferences shall elect a member of the board, who shall serve for four (4) years. The election shall be conducted in the manner specified in Section 25 for election of members of the Legislative Council.

Members of the 2023-2024 Waiver Review Board

Conf.   Term       Member

1A    2026   Zach Morris, Superintendent of Aspermont ISD

2A    2024   Martin Brumit, Superintendent, Kerens ISD

3A    2025   Robert O’Connor, Superintendent, Edna ISD

4A    2026   Kyle Lynch, Superintendent of Seminole ISD

5A    2027   Judd Marshall, Superintendent, Mount Pleasant ISD

6A    2027   Dr. Christi Whitbeck, Superintendent, Fort Bend ISD

Appointed 2023   Jimmy Thomas, Lubbock (Chair)

Appointed 2023   Dr. Creslond Fannin, Austin ISD, Executive Director

Appointed 2023   Leslie Slovak, Athletic Director, Richardson ISD

Appointed 2023   Dr. Gary Bates, Superintendent, Fort Sam Houston ISD

Appointed 2023   Lisa Langston, Director of Athletics, Fort Worth ISD

Appointed 2023   Silvia Salinas, Dallas