Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo
Leaguer Header Logo


Sponsor Excellence Award Nominations Due Nov. 9

By Lauren Kelley, UIL Intern | Wednesday, September 09, 2015 10:02 AM

The University Interscholastic League would not thrive without dedicated sponsors and coaches. One way UIL recognizes these men and women is with the Sponsor Excellence Award.

Each year UIL selects 15 Sponsor Excellence Award winners. The 15 recipients receive a $1000 check and plaque. There are three categories for the award: academic contest coaches (including One Act Play), athletic coaches and music directors. The award is meant to “recognize outstanding sponsors who assist students in developing and refining their extracurricular talents.”

The nomination link will be sent to superintendents and principals on Oct. 6.

"Some of the finest educators in the state have been recipients of this prestigious award,” UIL Executive Director Charles Breithaupt said. “The UIL Sponsor Excellence Award is presented to talented and dedicated coaches, directors and sponsors from across the state.”

Criteria evaluated for the selection of the award are as follows:

  • Only one nomination per high school.
  • Must have sponsored activities for five or more years.
  • Principal recommendation of the sponsor as an effective teacher in classroom activities.
  • A statement regarding the relative importance of competitive activities in the sponsor’s personal educational philosophy.
  • The desire to recognize sponsors from each of the three categories of UIL activities.

The deadline for completed nominations, which includes the nominee form and a recommendation letter, is Nov. 20. However, the deadline to initially nominate a faculty member is Nov. 9.

 “Without the energy and abilities of our coaches, directors and sponsors, Texas students would not have the opportunity to excel at such a high level,” Dr. Breithaupt said. “The UIL is fortunate that so many teachers choose to sacrifice their time for our students.”

The recipients of the awards are chosen by a committee appointed by Dr. Breithaupt.