Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

UIL State Marching Band Contest Information

Media Contact: Kate Hector
Phone: 512-471-5883

Date: Oct 30, 2015
Category: Music


AUSTIN, TX— Bands from across the state will compete for top honors at the 2015 UIL State Marching Band Contest to be held November 2-3 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

The Conference 2A and 3A bands will compete on Monday. Conference 2A preliminaries will begin at 7:30 a.m., and the finals will begin at 7:15 p.m.  The Conference 3A preliminaries will begin at 12:30 p.m. with finals at 9 p.m. Performances from 1A and 5A bands will take place on Tuesday. Conference 1A prelims will begin at 11 a.m. with finals at 8:45 p.m. Conference 5A prelims will begin at 7 a.m. and finals will begin at 10 p.m.

The 2015 UIL Marching Band State Contest will feature the 1A pilot contest for the first time. All 1A bands that earned a Division I rating at a Region Marching Contest were eligible to enter to the state contest, there were no 1A area contest.

Tickets for the State Marching Band Contest are $19 for adults and $14 for students for each session (prelims and finals). An adult one-day pass ticket, which may be used at both prelim and final sessions the same day, is available for $30 for adults and $24 for students. Tickets are available through Ticketmaster or at the gate. The box office will open 1 hour, 30 minutes before the first performance. Access to a live video feed will be provided through for $10.00 for a one-day pass and $18 for a two-day pass.

Nationally recognized judges who have distinguished themselves as band directors and music educators will decide the State Champions.

Conference 1A participants include the following high schools: Crosbyton, Wink, Rising Star, Rotan, Barksdale Nueces Canyon, White Deer, Knox City, Ropesville Ropes, Throckmorton, Whiteface, Leakey, Munday, Water Valley

Conference 2A participants include the following high schools: Kerens, Sundown, Tolar, Shelbyville, San Saba, Anson, Forsan, Clarksville, Sabinal, Seymour, Somerville, New Deal, Honey Grove, Price Carlisle, Harper, Panhandle, Ganado

Conference 3A participants include the following high schools: Vanderbilt Industrial, Whitesboro, McGregor, Lyford, Mineola, Teague, Denver City, Van Alstyne, Clifton, Luling, Queen City, Eastland, Holliday, Littlefield, White Oak, Farmersville, Santa Rosa, Pattonville Prairiland, Cameron Yoe, Crane

Conference 5A participants include the following high schools: Katy Tompkins, Tomball, Roma, Canyon, Frisco Centennial, Waxhachie, Fort Worth Chisholm Trail, Mission Sharyland Pioneer, North Richland Hills Birdville, Fort Bend Ridge Point, Cedar Park Vista Ridge, McKinney, Tomball Memorial, Fort Worth Southwest, Edinburg Vela, Cedar Park, McKinney North, Donna, Dripping Springs, Aledo, Plainview, Rio Grande City, Frisco Wakeland, Austin Vandegrift, Mesquite Poteet, Crosby, Donna North, El Paso Bel Air, Leander, Forney, Mont Belvieu Barbers Hill

For more information, or to see results during the contests, please refer to the UIL Music website:

-- END --