Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

UIL Young Filmmakers Festival Information

Media Contact: Logan Lawrence
Phone: 512-471-5883

Date: Feb 21, 2023
Category: Academics


AUSTIN, TX — The 2023 UIL Young Filmmakers Festival will take place Wednesday at the LBJ Auditorium on the campus of The University of Texas.

Students at UIL member schools submitted original works of film within four categories: Digital Animation, Documentary, Narrative, and Traditional Animation. Films were scored by a panel of judges based on originality, cinematic storytelling, and technical execution.

SCHEDULE: (Wednesday, February 22)

SESSION 1: 10AM-12NOON  •   Doors open 9:45AM

Combined Conference (1A-3A)  Digital Animation

  Aunt Cop-Mission Collegiate HS

  A Regular Appointment-Sabine Pass HS

  Dirty Paws-Wall HS

  Circle-Sabine Pass HS

  Mirage-Shiner HS

  Unrequited Love?-Marfa HS

4A Digital Animation

  A Simple Walk-Bishop HS

  Doors -Uvalde HS

  Pirate Cat-Bay City HS

  Reunion-Stephenville HS

  Shenanigans-Rusk HS

  The New Jest-Lampasas HS

Combined Conference (1A-3A)  Documentary

  Bravo Battery-Itasca HS

  Housing the Unhoused-Lytle HS

  Rooting for Rainey-Grand Saline HS

  Shelli Calicott - A Daughter's Perspective-Redwater HS

  Then, We Saw the Smoke-May HS

  Yearbook: Behind the Scenes-Burton HS

4A Documentary

  3 Minutes-Canyon Randall HS

  Goodbye Doesn't Always Mean Forever-Van Alstyne HS

  In Their Shoes-Hudson HS

  Made to Last-Lindale HS

  Parker's Park-Robinson HS

  The Foreman Legacy-Houston Yates HS


SESSION 2: 12:15PM-2:15PM

Combined Conference (1A-3A)  Narrative

  Agent Liam-Tuscola Jim Ned HS

  Emily and Eddie-Mount Enterprise HS

  Foul and Most Unnatural-New Waverly HS

  I Will Rise-Nocona HS

  Boxed-Big Sandy Harmony HS

  The Interview-Atlanta HS

4A Narrative

  Amelia-Salado HS

  Courage-Sulphur Springs HS

  Fading-Salado HS

  Help-Waco Lago Vista HS

  Remorse-Perryton HS

  Return-Aubrey HS

Combined Conference (1A-3A) Traditional Animation

  Behind the Plank-Wall HS

  Hatched-Sabine Pass HS

  Play with Me-Christoval HS

  Love Grows O-Sabine Pass HS

  Summer Pleasure- Lindsay HS

  Soul Mates-Sabine Pass HS

4A Traditional Animation

  Chubby Bo- Lampasas HS

  Girls Can Race-Lindale HS

  Forget Me Not-Lampasas HS

  The Aftermath - Featuring Sexual Assault-Stephenville HS

  La Luna-Sulphur Springs HS

  In a Rush-Lindale HS

The Top Nobelity award for each film from 3A and 4A will be screened at the end of Session 2

**Awards Ceremony: 2:30 - 3 PM  •  Combined Conference (1A-3A)  & 4A Awards


SESSION 3: 3:30PM-5:45PM  •  Doors open 3:15PM

5A Digital Animation

  Crows in the Storm-Carrollton Turner HS

  Last Dance-Argyle HS

  The Purrfect Pet-Carrollton Turner HS

  Time's Up!-PSJA North HS

  Valentine Mystery-Austin Ann Richards

  What If?-Georgetown HS

6A Digital Animation

  A Fresh Glass of Lemonade-San Antonio East Central HS

  Copy Cat-Allen HS

  Dinner for Two-Cypress Woods HS

  Clammed Up-Allen HS

  Grimm-Northside Warren HS

  Illinois Smith-Katy Seven Lakes HS

5A Documentary

  6 Minutes: For A Lifetime of Honor-Argyle HS

  7:34 AM: The Alton Bus Crash Story-Mission Sharyland Pioneer HS

  If Not Me, Then Who?-Argyle HS

  ¡Ya Basta! The Pharr Riot-PSJA North HS

  Survivor's Pursuit-Argyle HS

  The Last Cast - The Story of Ryan Bagwell-Mission Sharyland HS

6A Documentary

  Arturo-Cypress Creek HS

  Gone-Northside Marshall HS

  Obstacles-Jersey Village HS

  San Antonio Zoo Conservation & Research-Northside Stevens HS

  Roots-Jersey Village HS

  AWW Cece-Cypress Creek HS


SESSION 4: 6 PM - 8:15 PM

5A Narrative

  CODE: Destiny-Longview HS

  Earth to You-Austin LASA

  En Camino-Laredo Nixon HS

  Peach Lane-Longview HS

  Saphris-Boerne Champion HS

  Wake Up-McAllen HS

6A Narrative

  Caught Up-Deer Park HS

  Dear Sister-El Paso Pebble Hills HS

  Headspace-Keller Central HS

  Timeline-Fort Bend Ridge Point HS

  Untitled-Cypress Ranch HS

  Ways to Say Goodbye-San Benito HS

5A Traditional Animation

  9 Lives!-PSJA Southwest HS

  Lifeline-Boerne Champion HS

  "The Little Bee"-PSJA North HS

  Maki-Boerne Champion HS

  To Arya-PSJA North HS

  Victoria Forest-Argyle HS

6A Traditional Animation

  Dinoboy-Allen HS

  Invasion of the Homebody-Laredo Alexander HS

  Milkweed-Allen HS

  Starcatcher-Katy Seven Lakes HS

  Shrew Stew-Allen HS

  Lift-Prosper HS

The Top Nobelity award for each film from 5A and 6A will be screened at the end of Session 4

**Awards Ceremony: 8:30 - 9 PM  •  5A & 6A Awards

Admission to the festival is FREE. Parking information for the event can be found HERE.

More information can be found here:

-- END --