Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

UIL State Marching Band Contest

Media Contact: Chris Schmidt
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Oct 30, 2009
Category: Music


AUSTIN, TX— Bands from across the state will compete for top honors at the 2009 UIL State Marching Band Contest to be held November 2-3 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

The Conference 1A and 2A bands will compete on Monday, with the preliminaries beginning at 7:45 a.m., and the finals beginning at 7 p.m.  The Conference 4A competitions will be held on Tuesday, starting at 8:30 a.m. for the preliminaries, and 7 p.m. for the finals.

Tickets for the State Marching Band Contest are $15 for adults and $10 for students for each session (prelims and finals). An adult one-day pass ticket, which may be used at both prelim and final sessions the same day, is available for $25. Tickets are available through Ticketmaster or at the gate.

Judges from all over the country that have distinguished themselves as successful marching band directors and administrators will decide the State Champions.

Conference 1A participants in performance order include: Thorndale HS, Barksdale Nueces Canyon HS, Sundown HS, Knox City HS, Timpson HS, Canadian HS, Ganado HS, Somerville HS, Price Carlisle HS, Throckmorton HS, Itasca HS, Forsan HS, Tenaha HS, Falls City HS, Archer City HS, and Tolar HS.

Participants in Conference 2A in performance order include: Clifton HS, Crane HS, Taft HS, White Oak HS, Whitewright HS, Vanderbilt Industrial HS, Anahuac HS, Howe HS, Colorado City Colorado HS, Gladewater Union Grove HS,Aubrey HS, Ballinger HS, Universal City Randolph HS, Littlefield HS,Rio Vista HS, Queen City HS, Holliday HS, and Jourdanton HS.

Participants in Conference 4A in performance order include: Buda Hays HS, Alice HS, Waxahachie HS, Mansfield Legacy HS, Edcouch-Elsa HS, Wolfforth Frenship HS, Brenham HS, Carrollton Smith HS, Friendswood HS, Kingsville King HS,El Paso Del Valle HS, Fort Worth Boswell HS, Austin Johnson HS, Mesquite Poteet HS,Galena Park HS, Frisco Wakeland HS, Corpus Christi Calallen HS, Dripping Springs HS, Waller HS, Pearland Dawson HS, Forney HS, Azle HS, Roma HS, Pflugerville Hendrickson HS, Fort Worth Southwest HS, and Saginaw HS.

For more information, or to see results during the contests, please refer to the UIL Music web site:

-- END --