Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

UIL State Executive Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Chris Schmidt
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Aug 12, 2009
Category: State Executive Committee


AUSTIN, TX— The eligibility of two student-athletes was decided and several coaches and high schools were issued penalties after decisions were handed down by the State Executive Committee on Wednesday.

An Austin McCallum High School student-athlete was granted eligibility for varsity athletics after the committee ruled that the student did not change schools for athletic purposes.

A Palestine High School student-athlete’s appeal to regain varsity eligibility was denied by the State Executive Committee. After hearing testimony from all interested parties, the committee ruled that the student changed schools for athletic purposes upholding the previous District 20-3A Executive Committee decision.

In other news, penalties were issued to four high schools for violating Section 1210 of the UIL Constitution and Contest Rules. Lewisville High School, Anthony High School, Woden High School and Houston North Forest High School were issued a public reprimand and one-year probation for violating steroid protocol.

The following coaches accepted automatic penalties for violating Section 1208(j), Ejection from a Contest:

  • Coach Derrick Taylor of Houston Westbury High School
  • Coach Bo Moore of Woden High School
  • Coach Michael Haney of McKinney High School
  • Coach Stephen Davis of Danbury High School

-- END --