Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

UIL State Executive Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Logan Lawrence
Phone: 512-471-5883
Fax: 512-471-6589

Date: Dec 11, 2018
Category: State Executive Committee


AUSTIN, Texas — The State Executive Committee of the University Interscholastic League met Tuesday to hand down decisions on eligibility of student-athletes and issue penalties for UIL rule violations.

Student-athletes from Alvin Shadow Creek High School, Pasadena Rayburn High School, Dickinson High School, Rankin High School, and Valley View High School were denied appeals for varsity eligibility, upholding the previous rulings of the district executive committees.

A student-athlete from Lewisville The Colony High School was granted an appeal for varsity eligibility. After hearing testimony from all parties, it was determined that this student did not change schools for athletic purposes.

San Antonio Gervin Academy and San Antonio Brooks Academy girls basketball programs were given two years probation and a public reprimand for fighting with opponents.

Houston Yates High School football coach Michael Watkins was denied an appeal of a ruling of a district executive committee, and was placed on two years probation and issued a public reprimand.

-- END --