Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

State Executive Committee Meeting Results

Media Contact: Kate Hector
Phone: 512-471-5883

Date: Sep 23, 2015
Category: State Executive Committee


AUSTIN, TX— The State Executive Committee of the University Interscholastic League met Wednesday to hand down decisions on eligibility of student athletes.

Student athletes from Newton High School, Fort Worth South Hills High School, and DeSoto High School were denied appeals for varsity eligibility, upholding the previous decisions of the district executive committees.

It was determined that a Hillwood Middle School student did not repeat grades for athletic purposes, overturning the previous ruling of the district executive committee.

Student athletes from Freeport Brazosport High School, Edinburg North High School, and Louise High School were granted appeals for varsity eligibility. After hearing testimony from all parties it was determined that the students did not change schools for athletic purposes.

In other action, Laredo United South High School coach Eduardo Mendoza’s case was dropped because it was determined he was not ejected. 

-- END --