Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

Overview of PML Submission Process

Call for UIL Large Ensemble Submissions

The University Interscholastic League accepts new large ensemble submissions for inclusion in the UIL Prescribed Music List from September 1 through December 1. This document serves as the repertoire guide for the approximately 500,000 music students and 3,800 performing organizations in the state of Texas.  You can view the current PML at:

http://www.uiltexas.org/music/pml

The selection committees welcome the opportunity to review any current year releases for concert band, choir, string and full orchestra. Music published prior to the current year will not be considered unless it has not been recently submitted. Additions to the list will appear in the PML in the fall of the year following consideration.

As part of a Diversity Initiative in music literature, the UIL encourages the submission of works from underrepresented composer groups and/or cultures. The University Interscholastic League (UIL) does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs.

Publishers are requested to use the following procedures for submissions:

Concert Music for Band, Choir, and Orchestra

Large ensemble concert music will be submitted electronically. The following link will take you to the portal where you can submit a pdf of scores plus a link to online recordings. If no recording link is available you will have the option of submitting an mp3 with the score.

Go to: http://www.uiltexas.org/pml-submissions and follow the steps prescribed on the submission page. 
(Submissions link will be active beginning September 1st.)

The following requirements will be in effect for all submissions.

  1. Scores must be engraved, camera ready and available for distribution.
  2. Recordings must be actual performances. No midi files will be reviewed.

Access to the submissions will be password protected and only available to UIL staff and committee members.

Solo & Small Ensemble Review Schedule

Solos & small ensembles will be reviewed on the following schedule:

Review Events Implementation
2018 - 2019 Wind Class 1 Small Ensembles, All Vocal Ensembles  2019 - 2020
2019-2020 All String/Piano Solos, Wind Class 2 & 3 Small Ensembles 2020 - 2021
2020-2021 All String Small Ensembles, All Wind Solos 2021 - 2022
2021 - 2022 All Vocal Solos 2022 - 2023

All percussion solos and ensembles will continue being reviewed every 2 years; next review in 2020.
Dr. Brian Zator, Texas A&M - Commerce, chair

Committees will be established for the specific purpose of updating solo & small ensemble literature. These members will accept outside input until March 1 of the implementation year by contacting them directly.

2019-2020 Solo & Small Ensemble Committee Members

  1. Flute Trio (234); Flute Quartet (242); Flute Choir (273) Beth Van Epps, Sharyland ISD, bvepps@gmail.com 
  2. Clarinet Trio (235); Clarinet Quartet (243) Jennifer Condon, Stanton HS, jcondon@stanton.esc18.net
  3. Mixed Clarinet Quartet (244); Clarinet Choir (275); New event Mixed Clarinet Trio (236) Andrew Kier, Barbers Hill ISD, akier@bhisd.net
  4. WW Trios (230); WW Quartet (241) Megan Wike, Ridgeview MS, Round Rock ISD, Megan_Wike@roundrockisd.org
  5. Sax Quartet (246); Miscellaneous Sax Ensembles (277) Nachel Konemann, Strickland MS, Denton ISD, nkonemann@dentonisd.org
  6. WW Quintet (251); Miscellaneous WW Ensemble (270) Katie Fehr, Birdville HS,  katie.fehr@yahoo.com
  7. Trumpet Trio (331); Trumpet Quartet (340) Brenden Steber, Beck JH, Katy ISD, bpsteber29@gmail.com
  8. Trombone Trio (332); Trombone Quartet (345); Trombone Choir (375) Rocky Harris, Big Spring HS, retired, roccoharris@ymail.com
  9. Euphonium Trio (333); Euphonium Quartet (343); Tuba/Euphonium Quartet (347) Kevin Ronan, Lewisville ISD, kronan41@gmail.com
  10. Horn Quartet (341); Miscellaneous Horn Ensemble (373) Susan Steber, Beckendorff, JH, Katy ISD, ssteberfrenchhorn@gmail.com
  11. Brass Trio (334); Brass Quartet (344) Melanie Kulaga, Harlingen HS, melmic00@gmail.com
  12. Brass Quintet (351); Brass Sextet (360) Cathy Humphrey, Cele MS, Pflugerville ISD, celecoltband@gmail.com
  13. Six or more brass (371) ALL CLASSES​ Keith Morales, Del Valle HS, El Paso, Keith.a.morales@gmail.com
  14. WW Quartet (241) CLASS 1 Chase Giddings, Dekaney HS, cgidding@springisd.org
  15. Brass Sextet (360) CLASS 1 Austin Swack, Spring HS, aswack@springisd.org
  16. NEW EVENT Double Reed Ens (272) Sally Bohls sboeh@verizon.net, Dr. Abby Held helday@sfasu.edu
  17. NEW EVENT Trumpet Choir (372) Dr. Andy Stetson andrew.stetson@ttu.edu, Dr. Ray Vasquez rfvasquez@bisd.us
  18. Violin solo (401) CLASS 1 Chris Tran, Plano Sr. High, Plano ISD, christopher.tran@pisd.edu
  19. Violin solo (401) CLASS 2 & 3 Jan Garverick, MacArthur HS, San Antonio, jgarve@neisd.net
  20. Viola solo (402) Ellen Townley, Allen ISD, Ellen_Townley@allenisd.org
  21. Cello solo (403) CLASS 1 Ann Victor, Austin HS, Fort Bend ISD, Ann.Victor@fortbendisd.com 
  22. Cello solo (403) CLASS 2 & 3 Rachel Horowitz, Hill Country MS, rhorvitz@eanesisd.net 
  23. String bass solo (404) Andy Moritz, freelance teacher, Houston, info@thebassstudio.com
  24. Acoustical guitar solo (405) Jason Schermerhorn, Roberson MS, Spring ISD, jscherme@springisd.org
  25. Harp solo (602) Rachel Mazzucco, Texas Tech University, rachel.mazzucco@ttu.edu
  26. Piano solo (603) Dr. Bradley Bolen, Baylor, bradley_bolen@baylor.edu

Additional Information

Please contact the UIL State Music Office at music@uiltexas.org if you have any questions or require additional clarification.