Skip to main content
University of Texas at Austin
University Interscholastic League Logo
University Interscholastic League Logo

STEM Contact Info

STEM Director:
David Trussell

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Department Phone:

Department Fax:

State Champions

UIL Robotics State Championships: BEST Division

2017 BEST  Division Championships

December 7-9, 2017 • The University of Texas at Dallas and Dr Pepper Arena - Frisco, TX

List of advancing teams

Detailed event schedule

Follow us on social media for photos and video during the event!

BEST Event Committee

BEST of Texas Robotics
Janne Ackerman,  Executive Director
Mary Helmick, Treasurer

Erik Jonsson School of Engineering & Computer Science
Patrick Michaud, Assistant Director for Robotics Education
Anricka Ziller, Events Coordinator
Poras Balsara, Interim Dean
D.T. Huynh, Faculty Sponsor
Chris Bhatti, Development
Iram Hasan, Development
Jerry Alexander, Student Services
Chaz Lilly, Communications
Kurt Mansor, Graphics Designer
Aparna Shrivastava, Web Developer

Tournament Officials

Name Company Title Championship Role
Anricka Ziller University of Texas at Dallas Special Events Coordinator Registration Lead
Bill Rock Raytheon Company Software Quality Engineer Field Co-Lead
David Moore Raytheon Company Systems Engineer Field Co-Lead
David Whitmire Raytheon Company Engineering Director (retired) Head Judge
Dick Weber, PE (ret.) L-3 Mustang Technologies Principal Engineering Fellow Special Awards Lead
G. J. Snyder Fox Sports Director, Systems Operations Game Scoring Co-Lead
Garry Ackerman Raytheon Company Innovation Advocate (retired) Emcee (alternate)
Hubie Payne Texas Instruments Incorporated VP of Engineering Operations Emcee
Janne Ackerman BEST of Texas Robotics President and Exec. Director Asst. Game Boss
Jennifer Holm Texas Instruments Incorporated Design Engineer Staging / Pit Crew Lead
Joel Graber Texas Instruments Incorporated Sr. Member of Tech. Staff (ret.) Compliance Lead
Kathryn Whitmire Raytheon Company Systems Engineer Game Scoring Co-Lead
Mary Gorley Texas Instruments Incorporated Quality Volunteer Hospitality Lead
Mary Helmick Texas Instruments Incorporated Director, Strategy and Program Mgmt, Analog Eng. Operations Production Manager
Mike Blazer X Technologies Sr. Customer Service Engineer Spares and Repairs Lead
Otis Gorley Texas Instruments Incorporated Design Verification Engineer Assistant Head Referee
Patrick Michaud University of Texas at Dallas Asst. Director for Robotics Ed.,Science and Eng. Ed. Ctr. Technical Lead
Wiede Cutshall PE Cutshall Consulting, LLC Chief Engineer Head Referee / Game Boss



























2017 Results



Participating Teams